Eastport Civic Association
P.O. Box 3539
Annapolis, MD 21403
Copyright  © Eastport Civic Association. All rights Reserved.

ECA Grant Recipients

The ECA awarded 8 grants - a total of $9,025 - to local community organizations in the Spring 2017 awards cycle.  All of the requests submitted were from organizations doing very good work. The ECA Grants Committee, chaired by Debra Dillon, recommended and the Board approved the following awards:

  1. Annapolis Maritime Museum: funded at $1,500 in support of Tides and Tunes Summer Concert Series.
  2. Back Creek Conservancy: funded at $735.00 to cover the cost of USCG gear for the Conservancy’s launch.
  3. Box of Rain: funded at $2,500 in support of a Program Outreach Assistant position that provides employment and training to a Box of Rain teen.
  4. Center of Help (Centro de Ayuda): funded $1,000.00 for work to provide assistance to low income Hispanic/ Latino families living in Eastport.
  5. Eastport Elementary: funded at $1,300 to send four students to Arlington Echo Summer Camp, a week long residential camp.
  6. Eastport Volunteer Fire Co: funded $1,000 toward payment to retire debt used to purchase the Advanced Life Support Medic Unit in 2016.
  7. Seeds4Success: funded at $750.00  to cover the cost of staff supervision to coordinate Seeds4Sucess students attending a summer program at the Anne Arundel County library.
  8. STAIR (Start the Adventure in Reading): funded at $240 for education materials and backpacks to be awarded to STAIR participants.

​The Committee used the grant guidelines and ECA mission statement as a basis for making their decision. The Committee also took into consideration the history of support that ECA had with organizations.  While this relationship does not guarantee funding, the committee did consider the commitment and successful outcomes that organizations had made in Eastport over the years.  The committee also appreciated proposals that provided direct support to individuals living in Eastport. The Committee will have a smaller fall grant cycle. Judith Moore, Karen Jennings, Rita Ormasa, Hugh Bernard, and Debra Dillon are the members of the Grants Committee.

 The Grant award money is made available by memberships in ECA and money raised by the House and Garden Tour.